WHAT: A discussion group revolving around the FemTechNet Distributed Open Collaborative Course on feminism and new technologies  Please see the press release for this collaborative course in my previous blog post. More information can be found on the website: http://femtechnet.newschool.edu/docc2013/

DATE:  September 29 – December 8

WHEN:  Sundays at 2pm Eastern Daylight/Standard Time ( 11 am Pacific, 7pm GMT). Check the Minerva OSU Calendar for cancellations or date changes: https://elliebrewster.com/minerva/minerva-calendar/

WHERE: The discussions will be held ONLINE in the virtual world Second Life, in the Ohio State virtual classroom, Minerva OSU

To join Second Life: https://join.secondlife.com/
Second Life system requirements: http://secondlife.com/support/system-requirements/
To find Minerva OSU: Simply type Minerva OSU into the Second Life address bar.

If you are new to virtual worlds and would like to join an orientation session in the week preceding the first meeting, please contact elliebrewster (at) gmail.com

If you are exploring in Second Life and need help, please IM Ellie Brewster.

TOPICS: With the approval of the group, we will follow the weekly video dialogues that accompany the course (schedule of videos is here: http://femtechnet.newschool.edu/video-dialogues-topics-schedule/ ). Other suggestions for topics are welcome.

WHO CAN JOIN:  Anyone can join the discussion; however, there will be a weekly limit of 35. If you cannot gain access to the classroom, it will be because the room is full. If you are interested in leading a second discussion group at a different time, please IM Ellie Brewster.

HOW TO JOIN:

For inclusion in the e-mailing list (no more than one e-mail per week), and membership in the Second Life group (necessary for admission), please send a request to elliebrewster (at) gmail.com with DOCC Mailing List  in the subject line. Please include your avatar name.