Exploring the virtual classroom

Online education and the metaverse

2012 Events

Past Events on Minerva and in the Metaverse, 2012

Eve Ensler and Denis Mukwege – Mayo Clinic Speaker Series

Eve Ensler will be giving a talk in Second Life on Monday, Sept 17, 2012 from 1 – 2 pm.  It takes place in the Mayo Clinic’s immersive online space, and the general public is invited. I’ll be attending this event, and will arrive early to help anyone who is new to virtual worlds. Just look for the avatar named Ellie Brewster.  Instructions on how to use Second Life are below.  Here’s the announcement:

Eve Ensler and Denis Mukwege, M.D., two world-renowned leaders in the fight to end violence against women, will present at a special lecture on Monday, Sept. 17, from 1 – 2 pm Eastern Time in the Mayo Clinic’s immersive online space in Second Life.  Ensler will speak on how the Mayo Clinic has allowed her to continue her life’s work protecting women in the Congo.  Dr. Mukwege, a two-time Nobel Peace Prize nominee, will talk about his work at Panzi Hospital in Bukavu, Congo, which also is dedicated to aiding female victims of extreme sexual violence.  Mayo employees worked closely with Dr. Mukwege in the Congo in 2010 and 2011. All are welcome.

To attend this event you must have a broadband connection (preferably through an ethernet cable) and a reasonably strong computer (no MacBook Air, no tablets). If you are logging in from work, be aware that some areas of campus, notably the hospital, have firewalls that prevent access to Second Life.

I will be at the entry to the auditorium one hour before the event.  To attend:

1) Check your computer can run the software on this page, then click the orange link to join Second Life
 http://secondlife.com/support/system-requirements/

2) Click the link below to arrive in the Mayo Clinic online space.  When you arrive, the auditorium will be behind you. Use the arrow keys on your computer to move around. Look for Ellie Brewster if you need help.

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Mayo%20Clinic/34/195/28

– – – – – – –

Midwifery in New Zealand – AAUW VIRTUAL COMMUNITY PROJECT

Sunday June 3, 11am Pacific (2pm Eastern, 7pm GMT)

Sarah Stewart (SL: Petal Stransky) is a  facilitator, researcher, educator, project manager and consultant specializing in eLearning, social media, networked learning, professional development and mentoring.  She is also a a health professional (nurse and midwife) with nearly 30 years of clinical and education experience.

On Sunday, May 27, Sara will discuss how virtual worlds can be used in facilitating midwifery.  She will also take us on a tour of the SLENZ Project, a model of an  “ideal” midwifery unit designed by  Professor Ian Forbes, University of Technology, Sydney. The instructional design for this project was provided by  Sarah Stewart, Leigh Blackall, Clare Atkins, Todd Cochrane and Aaron Griffiths. Midwife and mother HUDs were created and scripted by Todd Cochrane; pregnant avatar shapes supplied by Sakura Schlegal (SL name) and  sculpt maps used by Rusalka Writer (SL name).

Sarah’s blog post on this event: http://sarah-stewart.blogspot.com/2012/06/will-virtual-birthing-unit-ever-make.html

Come an hour early if you’d like a little help learning how to use Second Life. Individual or group orientation sessions can be set up at other times by contacting Ellie Brewster (elliebrewster_at_gmail.com).

We meet as usual, at the Minerva amphitheatre (link below).

To join us you must download the Second Life client, here:
http://secondlife.com/support/downloads/
Then use the link on that same page to join Second Life (free).

Use this link to arrive at the Minerva amphitheatre: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Minerva/53/218/27

– – – – – – –

Violence Against Women in Native American Communities

Sunday April 15, 11am Pacific (2pm Eastern, 7pm GMT)

Nancy K McDonald Miller (SL: Nany Kayo).

Nancy McDonald Miller is the founder and executive director of Virtual Native Lands, an educational organization promoting the use of virtual worlds technologies to benefit Native American communities.  Virtual Native Lands provides facilities and services for individuals and organizations interested in authentic Native American culture.  Established in 2008, Virtual Native Lands is currently the only Native American educational organization in existence on any virtual world platform.

Prior to her work in virtual worlds, Ms. McDonald Miller was a Windows software engineer for more than 20 years.  She is currently enrolled in the University of Washington Designing Virtual Worlds certification program.  She is an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation (Oklahoma).

Come an hour early if you’d like a little help learning how to use Second Life. Individual or group sessions can be set up at other times by contacting Ellie Brewster (elliebrewster_at_gmail.com).

We meet as usual, at the Minerva amphitheatre (link below).

To join us you must download the Second Life client, here:
http://secondlife.com/support/downloads/
Then use the link on that same page to join Second Life (free).

Use this link to arrive at the Minerva amphitheatre: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Minerva/53/218/27

– – – – – – –

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY CONCERT  

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Live concert: Naftali Torok, AM Forte, Sonya Jevette, TerryLynn Melody and the Choo Choo Chicks.  See below for links to the artists’ music.

11 am Pacific Time (2 pm Eastern, 7pm U.K.)
Naftali Torok- European folk  & Gypsy fiddling
Listen to Naftali here: http://www.reverbnation.com/naftalitorok

12 pm Pacific Time (3 pm Eastern, 8pm U.K.)
AM Forte – Rock and Blues
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFMvM0JSOXc

1 pm Pacific Time (4 pm Eastern, 9pm U.K.)
SonyaJevette Charisma, blues

Video: http://youtu.be/gBjnKrh49jI

2 pm Pacific Time (5 pm Eastern,10 pm U.K.)
TerryLynn Melody, folk
Listen: http://www.reverbnation.com/terrylynnmelody

3 pm Pacific Time (6 pm Eastern,11 pm U.K.)
The Choo Choo Chicks, Jazz
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5V0F-9xMuo

– – – – – – –

Virtual Montmartre

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Josephine Baker sang there, Gertrude Stein wrote poetry, and  countless artists and musicians have made its cafes and bistros their home.  It’s not surprising that it has been reproduced in Second Life, an interactive virtual world.   The virtual version of this famous Parisian neighborhood is hosted by Central Missouri State University, and it is a gathering place for a growing community of 3D artists.  The immersive multimedia spaces created at Virtual Montmartre are open to the public, and are a favorite for student field trips and independent exploration.

Sunday, Febrary 26 Roberta Kilkenny gave a lecture on African American culture’s influence on Montmartre, and she led a tour to some of the more famous sites. Known in Second Life as Oronoque Westland, she teaches in the Department of Africana and Puerto Rican/Latino Studies at Hunter College, CUNY..

It was a wonderful lecture and tour, see the photos below.

…and if you missed the event you can do a little exploring on your own:
http://slurl.com/secondlife/Virtual%20Montmartre/191/191/30

Minerva is the virtual research and teaching space for the Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: